Administration in Neyveli

Administration in NeyveliNeyveli is located in the South Arcot district of Tamil Nadu. The township was initially developed after mining the lignite by the Neyveli Lignite Corporation. After then, the entire Neyveli city is administered by the Department of Township administration (DTA) under the Neyveli Lignite Corporation. The Neyveli Township has been divided into 32 blocks in which each of the block is 1000 m in size.

Neyveli Township Administration Department

It is important to know that the township has taken great efforts in offering the public utility services such as water, sanitary, fuse-off call (power management), maintenance, repair, telecommunication for the people. Added to this, the township administration has developed a number of hospitals and dispensaries for the employees in major areas of the city. Few records have estimated that the Township Administration Department is headed by a Chief General Manager who takes the responsibility to look over the political and social affairs of the town. Spread over 50, the township is established with well laid-out roads, greenery, parks, sports facilities, bazaar and more.

Neyveli Assembly Constituency

Neyveli Lignite Corporation (NLC) ensures to offer the best support in the form of water and electricity. The city of Neyveli is represented in Kurinjipadi Legislative Constituency and Chidambaram Reserved Parliamentary Constituency of India. Being the part of the Kurinjipadi city, the Kurinjipadi State assembly consistency was reserved for the scheduled castes. This consistency was controlled by two main parties such Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam and All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam.

The Chidambaram Lok Sabha Consistency is composed of six segments that include Kunnam, Bhuvangiri, Ariyalur, Jayamkondam, Kattumannarkoil, Chidambaram and so on. With the development of the township, the Neyveli State Assembly Consistency was newly formed and included in the Cuddalore parliamentary consistency. Being the only town in Tamil Nadu, Neyveli city does not have a separate local self-government. In order to conduct local body elections, the authorities of the town department host elections in the Neyveli town panchayat. Further, the residents of the Neyveli town enjoy equal voting rights in the Assembly and Lok Sabha elections. It is essential to know that the voting results of both parties are determined by the voting pattern followed in the Neyveli Township. With the main aim to maintain and law, the township is supervised by a Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP) and a dedicated team in the All-Women Special Police Station.

The areas included after delimitation are stated in the following:

  • Alagappasamudram
  • Panikkankuppam
  • Siruvathur
  • Elandampattu
  • Melmambattu
  • Vengadampettai
  • Annadanampettai
  • Vadakkumelur
  • Kilkangeyankuppam
  • Perperiyankuppam

Free Listing